Magickal Hours

Sun – Sunday
Moon – Monday
Mars – Tuesday
Mercury – Wednesday
Jupiter – Thursday
Venus – Friday
Saturn – Saturday

The planetary hours are based on an ancient astrological system, the Chaldean order of the planets. This is the sequence: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon, then repeating endlessly Saturn, Jupiter, etc. The Chaldean order indicates the relative orbital velocity of the planets. From a heliocentric perspective this sequence also indicates the relative distance of the planets from the center of their orbits, i.e., the distance of the planets from the Sun (with the Sun switching places with the Earth in the sequence) and the distance of the Moon from the Earth. From a traditional geocentric perspective the Chaldean order also shows the arrangement of the planetary spheres.

The planetary hours are not the same as the sixty minute hours beginning at midnight that we use for normal timekeeping. The planetary days are divided into twenty four planetary hours with the first hour of the day beginning at sunrise and the last hour of the day ending at sunrise of the next planetary day. The period that extends from sunrise to sunset (daylight) is divided into twelve hours and the period extending from sunset to sunrise of the next day (nighttime) is also divided into twelve hours giving the twenty four hours of the planetary day.

Accordingly, as the duration of daylight and darkness varies except at the Vernal and Autumnal Equinoxes, on a particular planetary day the length of the hours of the day will differ from the length of the hours of the night.

The days and hours should be observed for your rites of Magick, which can greatly influence your success or failure. To get a more accurate time according to your region and time zone visit the US Naval Observatory.

Daylight hours are best for matters of the conscious mind, including magic for leadership, intelligence and all cognitive functions. The Sun is a welcome friend to chase any shadows that may be hiding in our lives. It is regarded as a beneficial sign of divine blessing when it shines on any special occasion. Mystical pursuits during daylight hours can be empowered when combined with a southerly wind.

The intuitive, emotional self, maternal nature, healing, fertility, and Moon magic area all part of the charm of the night. Wishing on stars, dreams, the eternal nature of the spirit, and ancient mysteries come into play once the Sun has set. If your observance can incorporate the west wind, all the better. This breeze is filled with flowing water and peacefulness.

Beginning any ritual, spell or celebration at dawn commemorates a new beginning, freshens, warmth and renewed hope. An especially potent time for Spring observances. Magic performed at dawn can also be accentuated by working with an easterly wind, blowing from the horizon where the Sun rises.

Closing and ending are the messages dusk brings. But this finality is not without promise. Dusk marks a temporary change toward darkness. It is a time to look within oneself and ponder universal truths. It is an excellent time to perform rites which mark the passage of a loved one, intense personal transitions, or to mark the end of any cycle. Magic performed at dusk is aided by the northerly wind, which is cool, brining heated matters to rest and an opportunity to reconsider our actions.

Midnight and Noon-
Commonly called the “in-between” hours (or “tween-times”), hanging between night and day. The most active times for elemental creatures such as the fairy folk and disincarnate spirits. Excellent for all magic pertaining to positive modifications in your life, endings and beginnings.

The specific hours of the day also have magical associations in many cultures. Following is a brief summary of some of these:
1 a.m. – The first hour of a new day. Focus is on wholeness of self and the banishing of any shadows.
2 a.m. – Ridding partnerships or relationships of negativity.
3 a.m. – Determination, especially in matters that seem to hold you back.
4 a.m. – Improved luck or victory over a specific set of deterring circumstances.
5 a.m. – Encouraging growth of the psychic self.
6 a.m. – Tenacity and perseverance, especially with something you have been putting off.
7 a.m. – Hope, improved insight and perspective.
8 a.m. – Personal change aimed toward the conscious mind.
9 a.m. – Assistance for others, focusing on concrete matters.
10 a.m. – Improving personal convictions and resolutions.
11 a.m. – Energy directed toward transformations which may have seemed impossible.
(Noon, see above)

1 p.m. – Self-image and personal security.
2 p.m. – Building relationships, encouraging understanding and love between people, sexual symmetry.
3 p.m. – Balancing matters of the body, mind and spirit.
4 p.m. – Harmony of elements, sticking to schedules, magick to accentuate goals.
5 p.m. – Insight to the self. Communicating with spiritual guides.
6 p.m. – Matters of safety, protection and completion.
7 p.m. – Diversity, blending or healing differences, gentle care towards others.
8 p.m. – Leadership, command and guidance.
9 p.m. – Comprehension of universal truth.
10 p.m. – Improving the rational mind, sensibility and clear mindedness.
11 p.m. – Coping with drastic change in a positive manner.
(Midnight, see above)



WordPress theme: Kippis 1.15